All Positive Reflections

I have been presenting at and participating in RSCON3 on July 29, 30 and 31. I found it very enjoyable. It really gave me a solid foundation of the many facets of teaching English to young learners. Also, it brought education back to my life. I have always had some reservations about my teaching style, but rscon3 faded my previous reservations with the help of the knowledge, effective methods and strategies, and technology. It augmented my areas of strength.
I have some reservations on my teaching style comparing to other international teachers. I used to utilize traditional ways of teaching four language skills and sub skills: vocabulary, and grammar to my students. For example, I was teaching reading passages as I was in a police station. Just it was a matter of seriously asking questions and the students answer, stressing on vocabulary more than on the ideas and finally the students copy the answers on their notebooks. Grammar was taught in translation method and most if not all of the time, students use Arabic language for communication inside the classroom. Vocabulary was taught in isolation and giving meaning in Arabic and finally students memorize the Arabic meaning. Really, I was dead in teaching but really this conference brought life to my teaching style and my reservations have been washed away with the gigantic help of knowledge, experience gained during it. Really it was great motivations for me and other teachers all over the World to participate in or present at it. It was a really authentiuc change in me to better teacher at anywhere. Thanks very much to Shelly and other organizers and go ahead.

About shamali288

Faisal Ibrahim Al Shamali is a teacher and teacher trainer for more than 27 years. He got TEYL and E-Teacher Professional Development Certificates in 2010. He had "Shaping the Way We Teach English" certificate from Oregon University, USA, 2011. He got E-certificates in Webinars by Washington DC, American Embassy Jordan, etc. He has been teaching English Language since 1994 in Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Thailand. In 2004 and 2007, he held Mythology Festival in Jordan. He attends and presents papers at international conferences. He published papers in Universities proceedings, Websites and Omani Newspapers. Also, the papers are translated into Arabic and published in Omani Newspapers. He is a member in TESOL. He is joining an online course on: Shaping the Way We Teaching English by University of Oregon. Now, I am joining webinar series 2 and series 3 by Washington DC and webinar by American TESOL. Currently, he is appointed to be a team leader and global associate director for IETTI. @shamali288
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.